Listen to Jimi Hendrix's Previously Unreleased "Mannish Boy"


For the first time ever, Jimi Hendrix fans can listen to the guitar god's version of Muddy Waters' "Mannish Boy," recorded sometime between 1968 and 1970.

You can check out the song above.

Close to 50 years later, the song is being released as part of Experience Hendrix and Legacy Recordings' Both Sides of the Sky album, featuring 13 previously unreleased Hendrix studio recordings.

Both Sides of the Sky is the third and final volume in a set of Hendrix's best unreleased work.  

The first volume in the trilogy, Valleys of Neptune, was released in 2010. The second, People, Hell and Angels, was released in 2013. 

Though the precise date of Hendrix's recording of "Mannish Boy" isn't specified, the arrangement sounds similar to Hendrix's work with Band of Gypsys circa 1969, which included bassist Billy Cox and drummer Buddy Miles

Fans familiar with Band of Gypsys will recognize some of the studio cuts on Both Sides of the Sky from a live album Hendrix recorded with that group in 1969 at the Fillmore East.

Recording engineer Eddie Kramer, who worked with Hendrix on each one of the guitarist's studio albums, called 1969 "a very experimental year" for Hendrix.

"The first thing is you put the tape on and you listen to it and the hairs just stand up right on the back of your neck and you go, 'Oh my God. This is too f---ing incredible," said Kramer. "It's an incredible thing. Forty—50 years later here we are and I'm listening to these tapes going, 'Oh my God, that's an amazing performance.'"

A number of the tracks included on the album were recorded with Hendrix's Band of Gypsys, featuring drummer Buddy Miles and bassist Billy Cox. 

Read more here

See the full Both Sides of the Sky track listing below:

  1. Mannish Boy
  2. Lover Man
  3. Hear My Train a Comin'
  4. Stepping Stone
  5. $20 Fine
  6. Power of Soul
  7. Jungle
  8. Things I Used to Do
  9. Georgia Blues
  10. Sweet Angel
  11. Woodstock
  12. Send My Love to Linda
  13. Cherokee Mist

Photo: YouTube / Jimi Hendrix VEVO


Content Goes Here